MCLE Classes & Events

Thursday, October 23: Criminal Law Update

Friday, October 24: The Affordable Care Act Overview and Update

Wednesday, October 29: Legislative Updates in Labor & Employment

Friday, October 31: Estate Planning & IRAs

Wednesday, November 5: Water in Wine Country

Friday, November 7: 25th Annual Pro Bono Awards Luncheon

Saturday, November 8 and Sunday, November 9: Special Issues in Custody Matters and Representing Minors

Friday, November 21: The Do's and Don'ts of Family Law Courtroom Practice

Wednesday, December 3: How to Properly Handle the Denial of Coverage

Monday, December 8: The 16th Annual Rex Sater Award Luncheon

Thursday, December 11: SCBA Holiday Mixer

MCLE Classes

Basic Probate Procedure

Date: Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Time: 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm (check-in 11:45 am)

Presenters: Deborah Corlett & Ron Merenbach

Place: Sonoma County Bar Association, 37 Old Courthouse Square, Suite 100 , Santa Rosa, CA 95404

Cost: $50 SCBA Members; $60–Non-Members

MCLE Credit: 2.0 Units of General MCLE Credit

Click Here to Register

Click Here to Print Registration Flyer!

Deborah Corlett

An overview of the basic procedure of administering an estate through the probate process

• Which estates are subject to probate.
• How to commence a probate.
• Steps and issues in the administration of a probate estate.
• Preparing and filing the inventory and appraisal.
• Handling creditor claims.
• Preparing and filing the accounting.
• Addressing issues with income and estate tax returns.
• Filing the petition for final distribution.

Deborah G. Corlett is a business partner with O’Brien Watters & Davis. She emphasizes estate planning, trust administration and probate law and has been Certified as an Estate Planning, Trust and Probate Law Specialist by The State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization. She received a J.D. from Cornell Law School, Ithaca, New York.

Ms. Corlett is a past chair of the Sonoma County Bar Trust and Estates Section. She has practiced with O’Brien Watters & Davis for over 17 years.

Ron Merenbach has been the Sonoma County probate examiner since 2004. Originally from San Francisco, he was a sole practitioner in the area of trusts and estates beginning in 1978. His hobbies include reading the obituaries, attending funerals, watching “Autopsy” and “Six Feet Under” on HBO, and celebrating Día de los Muertos. His favorite movie line is “I see dead people.”

Comments are closed.