MCLE Classes & Events

Thursday, July 30: Update: Same Sex Marriage, the United States Supreme Court and Adoption Developments

Monday, August 3: Legal Issues Affecting the Cultivation of Marijuana

Thursday, August 6: Effect of Minority Status on Campaign and Governance

Friday, August 7: SCBA Day at the Races

Monday, August 10: Deposition Objections

Friday, August 14 NEW DATE: Thursday, March 10 A Conversation with California Supreme Court Justice Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar

Tuesday, August 25: Ethical Considerations When Utilizing Paralegals & Staff

Wednesday, September 2: Problems and Pitfalls in Litigating Employment Cases

Friday, September 4: 6th Annual Picnic and Softball Throwdown

Monday, September 21: Planning and Administrating Special Needs Trusts That Work

Thursday, September 24: Proposition 47: A Primer for Non-Criminal Defense Attorneys

Wednesday, September 30: Untying the Gender "Nots": Eliminating Transgender Bias in the Legal Profession

Monday, October 12: Mediation: Successes, Challenges, Trends and the Next Generation

Friday, October 16: 2015 Careers of Distinction Awards Dinner

Saturday/Sunday, October 24/25: Special Issues in Custody Matters and Representing Minors

Thursday, October 29: Separating with Hearts and Smarts: A Guide for LGBTQ Couples

Friday, October 30: Civility Matters V

Monday, November 2: Ethics for Attorney’s Practicing Marijuana Law

Wednesday, November 4: Legislative Updates in Labor & Employment

Friday, November 13: Comprehensive Family Law Practice Series, Part 1 of 3

Events

Expedited Jury Trials Act

Date: Friday, May 6, 2011

Time: 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm (check-in 11:30 am)

Presenters: California State Senator Noreen Evans, Honorable Gary Nadler, Anne Ronan & Lewis Warren

Place: Hyatt Vineyard Creek, 170 Railroad Square, Santa Rosa CA 95401

Cost: $65 SCBA Members; $90–Non-Members

MCLE Credit: 1.5 Units General

Click Here to Register!

Click Here to Print Registration Flyer!

California State Senator Noreen Evans

    No practitioner can afford to miss this discussion of the Expedited Jury Trials Act, effective January 1, 2011, creating an entirely new voluntary option for completed one-day trial of any civil case before a smaller jury, with limited peremptory challenges and relaxed rules of evidence. Hear from the legislator who drafted the rules and AB 2284, our presiding judicial officer, and a pre-eminent trial attorney.Clients and attorneys will be asking:• Can we use the EJT process for our case?
    • Should we?
    • What are the costs?
    • What are the new Rules of Court and provisions in the Code of Civil Procedure?
    • What about appeal rights?
    • How will EJT work in Sonoma County Superior Court?
    • Can the parties stipulate to privately retain judicial officers?This program is a must for all civil attorneys who want to understand the biggest change in civil procedure in decades.

Comments are closed.