MCLE Classes & Events

Compliance Group 1 (A-G) DEADLINE: 2-1-19

The January Blitz!!: MCLE Live Programs Blitz

Thursday, January 17, 2019: Elimination of Bias in the Workplace - 2.0 Units Elimination of Bias

Tuesday, January 22, 2019: Ethical Duties and Electronically Stored Information - 1.0 Unit Legal Ethics

EVENT - Monday, January 28, 2019: 13th Annual Presiding Judge's Luncheon

Tuesday, January 29, 2019: Under Pressure: Attorneys Dealing with Stress - 1.5 Units Competence

Thursday, January 31, 2019: Recent Developments in Labor & Employment Law - 1.0 Unit Elimination of Bias

Tuesday, February 5, 2019: What to Know About the New Tax Law, A Year Later

Wednesday, February 6, 2019: Representing an Undocumented Person

Friday, February 15, 2019: Do’s and Don’ts of Civil Motion Practice

Thursday, February 21, 2019: Basic Fee Arbitration Training

Friday, February 22, 2019: SCWiL & SCBA's Barristers - Building Your Law Practice

Monday, February 25, 2019: New Laws and Forms in the Civil Department for 2019

Tuesday, February 26, 2019: A Matter of Trust: The Challenges of Mediating Inheritance Disputes

Friday, March 1, 2019: 2019 Family Law Judicial Officers’ Luncheon

Monday, March 4, 2019: Advanced DissoMaster Training

NEW DATE: March 5, 2019 from 10-30-18: The Prudent Investor Rule: Investing for Continuing Trusts

Monday, March 11, 2019: Legal Developments in LGBTQ Employment Discrimination Law

Friday, March 15, 2019: Mandatory Arbitration Clauses After Epic Systems v. Lewis

Friday, March 22, 2019: 2019 Civil Trial Workshop

Friday, March 29, 2019: Real Property Update 2019

Tuesday, April 2, 2019: The ABCs of Independent Contractors

Wednesday, April 3, 2019: Recent Changes to the Rules of Professional Conduct

EVENT - NEW DATE: Friday, April 5, 2019: The 20th Annual Rex Sater Award Dinner

For Arbitrators

Fee Arbitration materials available for download:

Want to become an Arbitrator? The Sonoma County Bar Association Fee Arbitration Program Needs You!

Fee Arbitration
The Sonoma County Bar Association is approved by the State Bar of California to sponsor a local Mandatory Fee Arbitration Program. Fee Arbitration is the process by which attorneys and their clients resolve a fee dispute. The SCBA, through the mandatory fee arbitration process, offers for attorneys and clients a chance to arbitrate their fee dispute. Fee arbitration is mandatory for the lawyer if the client requests arbitration.

Attorney Arbitrators and Lay Arbitrators
Attorneys and lay people serve as arbitrators for the fee arbitration process. They hear the case and make a decision about what fees were earned, based on the evidence provided by the attorney and the client. All arbitrators volunteer their time as a public service.

The Arbitration Process
One of the attorney arbitrators acts as the lead arbitrator and is responsible for taking care of the paper-work and scheduling the fee arbitration, with the assistance of SCBA staff. SCBA staff handles all the administration details from beginning to end. Arbitrations typically last from one to three hours. In order to qualify as an arbitrator, you must have practiced law for a minimum of five years and be in current good standing with the State Bar of California. In addition, once every five years, you must attend a State Bar Fee Arbitrator training program.

How You Can Help
The SCBA is currently looking for new attorney and lay arbitrators.

Click Here to Download the Fee Arbitration Application

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at:
Telephone: (707)542-1190 ext. 19 or e-mail: win@sonomacountybar.org