MCLE Classes & Events

Compliance Group 1 (A-G) DEADLINE: 2-1-19

The January Blitz!!: MCLE Live Programs Blitz

Thursday, January 17, 2019: Elimination of Bias in the Workplace - 2.0 Units Elimination of Bias

Tuesday, January 22, 2019: Ethical Duties and Electronically Stored Information - 1.0 Unit Legal Ethics

EVENT - Monday, January 28, 2019: 13th Annual Presiding Judge's Luncheon

Tuesday, January 29, 2019: Under Pressure: Attorneys Dealing with Stress - 1.5 Units Competence

Thursday, January 31, 2019: Recent Developments in Labor & Employment Law - 1.0 Unit Elimination of Bias

Tuesday, February 5, 2019: What to Know About the New Tax Law, A Year Later

Wednesday, February 6, 2019: Representing an Undocumented Person

Friday, February 15, 2019: Do’s and Don’ts of Civil Motion Practice

Thursday, February 21, 2019: Basic Fee Arbitration Training

Friday, February 22, 2019: SCWiL & SCBA's Barristers - Building Your Law Practice

Monday, February 25, 2019: New Laws and Forms in the Civil Department for 2019

Tuesday, February 26, 2019: A Matter of Trust: The Challenges of Mediating Inheritance Disputes

Friday, March 1, 2019: 2019 Family Law Judicial Officers’ Luncheon

Monday, March 4, 2019: Advanced DissoMaster Training

NEW DATE: March 5, 2019 from 10-30-18: The Prudent Investor Rule: Investing for Continuing Trusts

Monday, March 11, 2019: Legal Developments in LGBTQ Employment Discrimination Law

Friday, March 15, 2019: Mandatory Arbitration Clauses After Epic Systems v. Lewis

Friday, March 22, 2019: 2019 Civil Trial Workshop

Friday, March 29, 2019: Real Property Update 2019

Tuesday, April 2, 2019: The ABCs of Independent Contractors

Wednesday, April 3, 2019: Recent Changes to the Rules of Professional Conduct

EVENT - NEW DATE: Friday, April 5, 2019: The 20th Annual Rex Sater Award Dinner

Ethical Duties and Electronically Stored Information

This presentation will cover electronic discovery and the related ethical duty of competence. Drawing on guidance from the State Bar, recent e-discovery cases, and the speaker’s own experience assisting attorneys, the presentation outlines the main risks to counsel and client of failing to properly understand e-discovery obligations in litigation.

Cory Hamma, CISSP, ACE, MCITP Senior Network Security Architect Capitol Digital | Califorensics

Mr. Hamma has nearly 15 years of experience in digital forensics, e-discovery, and related fields. He specializes in digital evidence, including collection, analysis, reporting, and expert testimony in support of complex litigation or referral

Click here to continue reading Ethical Duties and Electronically Stored Information

IOLTA Accounts

Client Trust Accounting

This Program will Cover the Following Topics: ~ The Importance of Client Accounting

~ The Rules: California Rule of Professional Conduct 4-100

~ Key Concepts in Client Trust Accounting

~ Opening a Client Trust Bank Account ~ Depositing Money Into Client Trust Bank Accounts

~ Paying Money Out of Client Trust Bank Accounts

~ Record-keeping

~ Reconciliation

Margaret Schopp, CPA Legal Thrive; Schopp & Co., An Accountancy Corporation

Ms. Schopp has been a CPA for over 20 years beginning her career as an auditor with Deloitte. She began working with

Click here to continue reading IOLTA Accounts

Attorney Trust Accounts: Pitfalls to Avoid

A Discussion of the requirements of a CTA client trust account in order to comply with the obligations and to avoid California State Bar discipline.

Jonathan I. Arons Attorney at Law San Francisco, California

Jonathan I. Arons is an attorney in San Francisco, California. He is the owner of a two-attorney practice with a emphasis in professional responsibility/legal ethics. For more than 30 years he has advised lawyers on ethics matters, defense of disciplinary charges, and issues concerning admission or reinstatement to the State Bar of California. Mr. Arons also advises law firms and attorneys

Click here to continue reading Attorney Trust Accounts: Pitfalls to Avoid