SCBA Office Closed:

Monday, May 25, 2020 in honor of Memorial Day. .~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.

MCLE Classes & Events

Thursday, February 20: The Nuts and Bolts of the Sale of a Business

Friday, February 21: Legislation “ABCs” and Carve-Outs to Employment After Dynamex and AB5

Tuesday, February 25, 2020: New Housing Laws for 2020

EVENT - Tuesday, March 3, 2020: 2020 Family Law Judicial Officers’ Luncheon

EVENT -Tuesday, March 10, 2020: NIGHT At The MUSEUM Tour and Mixer

NEW DATE: Tuesday, March 24: Cal-OSHA Update

Monday, March 30, 2020: Understanding Undue Influence Through the Eyes of the Victimizer

Tuesday, April 2, 2020: Hemp Law 101

Tuesday, April 7, 2020: Family Law Disclosure Overview

Wednesday, April 15, 2020: Pension, Division, Malpractice & QDROs

Friday, April 17, 2020: LPS Conservatorships

Monday, April 27, 2020: Sports Law

Thursday, April 30, 2020: Qualified Opportunity Zones

EVENT -Friday, May 1, 2020: Rex Sater Award Dinner

Monday, May 4, 2020: Sexual Harassment Training for Law Firms

EVENT -Friday, May 15, 2020: Judges’ Jubilee

Tuesday, May 19, 2020: Divorce & Taxes

. ~ . ~ . ~ . ~ . ~ . ~ .
FOLLOW SCBA ON:

Facebook

LinkedIn

. ~ . ~ . ~ . ~ . ~ . ~ .

Under Pressure: Attorneys Dealing with Stress

Attorneys typically don’t want others to know they are struggling with mental health or substance abuse issues. In a competitive, high-stakes environment, they are concerned about privacy, confidentiality, and damage to their reputation. There is reluctance to seek help, because of societal stigma and professional vulnerability. Our two experts will expose the issues, and provide attorneys tools and resources to stay healthy.

David Mann Northern California Consultant The Other Bar

Mr. Mann is a graduate of Ohio State University and Stanford Law School. He served as a Deputy Public Defender in San Francisco before becoming a solo

Click here to continue reading Under Pressure: Attorneys Dealing with Stress

Survivors as Advocates:

Disaster Impacts on Legal Professionals

Survivors of disasters are the best suited to deliver services in the local disaster area, however, they are at risk for secondary traumatic stress due to their own exposure and being with their clients’ reactions.

This Training Will Cover: ~ Disaster Impacts: Collective and Individual ~ Disaster Impacts on the Legal/Mental Health Systems ~ Signs and Symptoms of Secondary Traumatic Stress ~ Tools for Mitigating Risk: Building Resiliency ~ Resources for the Advocates and Their Clients.

Wendy Wheelwright, Project Manager, California HOPE

Wendy Wheelwright has been a skilled clinician within Community Mental Health

Click here to continue reading Survivors as Advocates:

Special Issues in Custody Matters and Representing Minors

This program covers all 8 hours of training required by California Rules of Court, Rule 5.242 for Continuing minors’ counsel; as well as the required 12 hours of training for new minors’ counsel!

Discussion Will Include:

~ Minors’ Counsel: Authority for Appointment; Duties, Rights and Qualifications of Counsel; Compensation of Counsel ~ Developing Rapport with and Interviewing Children at Different Stages of Development ~ Child Custody and Visitation Issues ~ Recognizing, Evaluating and Understanding Evidence of Child Abuse/Neglect; CPS Reports ~ Family Violence and Substance Abuse; The Effects of Domestic Violence, Child Abuse and Neglect on Children ~ Tools for

Click here to continue reading Special Issues in Custody Matters and Representing Minors