MCLE Classes & Events

Thursday, July 30: Update: Same Sex Marriage, the United States Supreme Court and Adoption Developments

Monday, August 3: Legal Issues Affecting the Cultivation of Marijuana

Thursday, August 6: Effect of Minority Status on Campaign and Governance

Friday, August 7: SCBA Day at the Races

Monday, August 10: Deposition Objections

Friday, August 14 NEW DATE: Thursday, March 10 A Conversation with California Supreme Court Justice Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar

Tuesday, August 25: Ethical Considerations When Utilizing Paralegals & Staff

Wednesday, September 2: Problems and Pitfalls in Litigating Employment Cases

Friday, September 4: 6th Annual Picnic and Softball Throwdown

Monday, September 21: Planning and Administrating Special Needs Trusts That Work

Thursday, September 24: Proposition 47: A Primer for Non-Criminal Defense Attorneys

Wednesday, September 30: Untying the Gender "Nots": Eliminating Transgender Bias in the Legal Profession

Monday, October 12: Mediation: Successes, Challenges, Trends and the Next Generation

Friday, October 16: 2015 Careers of Distinction Awards Dinner

Saturday/Sunday, October 24/25: Special Issues in Custody Matters and Representing Minors

Thursday, October 29: Separating with Hearts and Smarts: A Guide for LGBTQ Couples

Friday, October 30: Civility Matters V

Monday, November 2: Ethics for Attorney’s Practicing Marijuana Law

Wednesday, November 4: Legislative Updates in Labor & Employment

Friday, November 13: Comprehensive Family Law Practice Series, Part 1 of 3

Voluntary E-Service

The Sonoma County Superior Court, working in conjunction with the Bench Bar Section of the Sonoma County Bar Association, now offers voluntary e-service.

Implementing e-service in your Sonoma County cases is simple. The Court has pre-approved the Stipulation and Order to submit for case(s) in which you want to use e-service. See local rule 18.16.

E-service cuts the time and expenses associated with pleadings and discovery, including postage, courier fees, printing costs, and stuffing envelopes by using a secure, password-protected Web site to disseminate documents.

All it requires is a computer and an internet connection. There’s no special software. No fees for training or support. You pay a single transaction fee to serve all of the parties in your case. And you can automatically receive an email notification when you receive new incoming service of documents filed by other counsel in your case.

The advantages to e-service are:

  • Increased Efficiency: Send multiple documents to multiple parties.
  • Speed of Delivery: Eliminate postal delays.
  • Verifiable Proof of Delivery: Never worry that things got lost in the mail or were blocked by firewalls or spam filters.
  • Reduced Costs: On photocopying, messengers and postage charges.
  • Searchable On line Repository: Instant, 24/7 access to all e-served case documents.
  • Save Storage Space and Trees: Reduce the amount of paper kept on file.
  • Courtesy copy provided immediately to the court: Each of the Civil Court Judges will have access to pleadings over the internet. No more worries about them not receiving the Reply Brief sufficiently in advance of the hearing.

You receive instant confirmation that your documents have been delivered so you have a record of the parties served and the date and the time delivered. Never again worry about important documents being lost, altered or corrupted. With e-service you gain speed, efficiency and an immediate cost-savings over old-fashioned paper-based systems.

Please see the attached flyer for more information.

Information regarding the following service providers is available using the following links:

Case Anywhere LLC | Case Home Page | Legal Document Server, Inc. | LexisNexis |  OneLegal