MCLE Classes & Events

Thursday, January 29: New Admittees Reception

Friday, January 30: New Laws and Forms for 2015 (Civil)

Wednesday, February 4: Focus, Flow, or Frazzle

Wednesday, February 11: Advanced Fee Arbitrator Training

Friday, February 13: Anti-Money Laundering: A Behind-the-Scenes look at the Bank Secrecy Act

Wednesday, February 18: Family Law New Forms & New Law for 2015

Thursday, February 19: IRA Trusts: Purposes and Drafting

Thursday, February 26: Nuts & Bolts of Family Law Business Valuation

Wednesday, March 4: Testamentary Intent

Thursday, March 5: Mock Trials

Monday, March 9: Anatomy of a DUI

Thursday, March 12: Getting it Admitted Into Evidence

Thursday, March 26: Handling Divorce Tax Issues

Friday, March 27: Substance Abuse in the Legal Profession

Wednesday, April 1: How Lawyers Can Help the Courts Run Effectively

Friday, April 17: Civil Pretrial Workshop

MCLE Classes

Banks Are from Mars, Trusts Are from Venus

The Interplay of Trust Administration and Bank Internal Policies and Procedures

Date: Thursday, May 17, 2012

Time: 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm (check-in 3:30 pm)

Presenters: MaryClare Lawrence, John Friedmann, Caron Schmierer, and Bill Andrews

Place: Mayacama Golf Club, 1240 Mayacama Club Drive, Santa Rosa, CA

Cost: $65–Regular Admission; $45-Students

MCLE Credit: 2.0 Units Estates Planning, Trust and Probate MCLE

Online registration is closed. To register for this seminar, please contact Amy at (707) 542-1190 ext. 17.

 

When establishing and administering trusts, it is common for attorneys and their clients to encounter unforeseen problems with banks that can undermine and frustrate established estate plans and trust documents. Unexpected, inconsistent, and bewildering individual bank “policies,” “procedures,” and “rules” can cause disastrous delays and expense in establishing and managing trust accounts.

Many of these obstacles are not on the radar of trust counsel, and may appear to lack a legal or rational basis. Also, banks often are unwavering in their adherence to what appear to be unreasonably cumbersome requirements.

This panel of experienced trust practitioners and veteran bank counsel will identify, examine, and suggest solutions to a wide array of trust banking issues, and will help attendees understand the banks’ legal and practical perspective. Attendees are encouraged to provide, in advance, examples of issues they have encountered for discussion by the panel. Such examples should be emailed to Stephanie Hess at shess@frigolaw.com.

Comments are closed.