MCLE Classes & Events

Thursday, July 30: Update: Same Sex Marriage, the United States Supreme Court and Adoption Developments

Monday, August 3: Legal Issues Affecting the Cultivation of Marijuana

Thursday, August 6: Effect of Minority Status on Campaign and Governance

Friday, August 7: SCBA Day at the Races

Monday, August 10: Deposition Objections

Friday, August 14 NEW DATE: Thursday, March 10 A Conversation with California Supreme Court Justice Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar

Tuesday, August 25: Ethical Considerations When Utilizing Paralegals & Staff

Wednesday, September 2: Problems and Pitfalls in Litigating Employment Cases

Friday, September 4: 6th Annual Picnic and Softball Throwdown

Monday, September 21: Planning and Administrating Special Needs Trusts That Work

Thursday, September 24: Proposition 47: A Primer for Non-Criminal Defense Attorneys

Wednesday, September 30: Untying the Gender "Nots": Eliminating Transgender Bias in the Legal Profession

Monday, October 12: Mediation: Successes, Challenges, Trends and the Next Generation

Friday, October 16: 2015 Careers of Distinction Awards Dinner

Saturday/Sunday, October 24/25: Special Issues in Custody Matters and Representing Minors

Thursday, October 29: Separating with Hearts and Smarts: A Guide for LGBTQ Couples

Friday, October 30: Civility Matters V

Monday, November 2: Ethics for Attorney’s Practicing Marijuana Law

Wednesday, November 4: Legislative Updates in Labor & Employment

Friday, November 13: Comprehensive Family Law Practice Series, Part 1 of 3

MCLE Classes

Banks Are from Mars, Trusts Are from Venus

The Interplay of Trust Administration and Bank Internal Policies and Procedures

Date: Thursday, May 17, 2012

Time: 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm (check-in 3:30 pm)

Presenters: MaryClare Lawrence, John Friedmann, Caron Schmierer, and Bill Andrews

Place: Mayacama Golf Club, 1240 Mayacama Club Drive, Santa Rosa, CA

Cost: $65–Regular Admission; $45-Students

MCLE Credit: 2.0 Units Estates Planning, Trust and Probate MCLE

Online registration is closed. To register for this seminar, please contact Amy at (707) 542-1190 ext. 17.

 

When establishing and administering trusts, it is common for attorneys and their clients to encounter unforeseen problems with banks that can undermine and frustrate established estate plans and trust documents. Unexpected, inconsistent, and bewildering individual bank “policies,” “procedures,” and “rules” can cause disastrous delays and expense in establishing and managing trust accounts.

Many of these obstacles are not on the radar of trust counsel, and may appear to lack a legal or rational basis. Also, banks often are unwavering in their adherence to what appear to be unreasonably cumbersome requirements.

This panel of experienced trust practitioners and veteran bank counsel will identify, examine, and suggest solutions to a wide array of trust banking issues, and will help attendees understand the banks’ legal and practical perspective. Attendees are encouraged to provide, in advance, examples of issues they have encountered for discussion by the panel. Such examples should be emailed to Stephanie Hess at shess@frigolaw.com.

Comments are closed.