MCLE Classes & Events

Thursday, October 23: Criminal Law Update

Friday, October 24: The Affordable Care Act Overview and Update

Wednesday, October 29: Legislative Updates in Labor & Employment

Friday, October 31: Estate Planning & IRAs

Wednesday, November 5: Water in Wine Country

Friday, November 7: 25th Annual Pro Bono Awards Luncheon

Saturday, November 8 and Sunday, November 9: Special Issues in Custody Matters and Representing Minors

Friday, November 21: The Do's and Don'ts of Family Law Courtroom Practice

Wednesday, December 3: How to Properly Handle the Denial of Coverage

Monday, December 8: The 16th Annual Rex Sater Award Luncheon

Thursday, December 11: SCBA Holiday Mixer

MCLE Classes

Banks Are from Mars, Trusts Are from Venus

The Interplay of Trust Administration and Bank Internal Policies and Procedures

Date: Thursday, May 17, 2012

Time: 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm (check-in 3:30 pm)

Presenters: MaryClare Lawrence, John Friedmann, Caron Schmierer, and Bill Andrews

Place: Mayacama Golf Club, 1240 Mayacama Club Drive, Santa Rosa, CA

Cost: $65–Regular Admission; $45-Students

MCLE Credit: 2.0 Units Estates Planning, Trust and Probate MCLE

Online registration is closed. To register for this seminar, please contact Amy at (707) 542-1190 ext. 17.

 

When establishing and administering trusts, it is common for attorneys and their clients to encounter unforeseen problems with banks that can undermine and frustrate established estate plans and trust documents. Unexpected, inconsistent, and bewildering individual bank “policies,” “procedures,” and “rules” can cause disastrous delays and expense in establishing and managing trust accounts.

Many of these obstacles are not on the radar of trust counsel, and may appear to lack a legal or rational basis. Also, banks often are unwavering in their adherence to what appear to be unreasonably cumbersome requirements.

This panel of experienced trust practitioners and veteran bank counsel will identify, examine, and suggest solutions to a wide array of trust banking issues, and will help attendees understand the banks’ legal and practical perspective. Attendees are encouraged to provide, in advance, examples of issues they have encountered for discussion by the panel. Such examples should be emailed to Stephanie Hess at shess@frigolaw.com.

Comments are closed.